Skip to content

August 27, 2010

3

Birch and Ferns, Ricketts Glen State Park, PA

by josephrossbachphoto

I enjoy exploring lesser know area in and around popular spots. It’s exciting to find a sot that is often overlooked by other photographers who have tunnel vision and feel they must concentrate all of their energies on a specific location or subject. Case in point, Ricketts Glen State Park in north central PA has some of the most amazing waterfalls in the Mid Atlantic. In fact you can visit well over 30 falls in the course of a 4 or 5 mile hike. I have returned to this location at least a dozen times over the past few years to hike the falls circuit and shoot new images. On a recent trip however, I decided to focus my attention on a few other spots just north of the main section of the park. For two days I camped and explored a great meadow filled with bracken ferns, maples and birch. I can only image how awesome this are will be come fall and I am planning to make a stop there on my way back from Vermont this October.

Best of light,

Joseph Rossbach

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sep 2 2010

    Really beautiful image! there’s just something about birch trees, and I especially like the peeling bark in this shot.

    Reply
  2. I like the of the picture where rock, tree and root meet together

    Reply
  3. Dec 6 2018

    Hi, this weekend is pleasant in favor of me, since this point in time
    i am reading this great educational post here at my home.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments