Skip to content

April 23, 2010

Earth Day hike in White Oak Canyon, Shenandoah National Park, Virginia.

by josephrossbachphoto
I spent Earth Day yesterday on an 8 mile hike in White Oak Canyon, Shenandoah National Park, Virginia. I have worked this area extensively in the past and choose to focus on many of the small cascades and waterfalls in the canyon instead of going after the big drops. The weather was pleasant all day, but the water was freezing cold and I spent most of my time in it getting the best looks and angles for the images.

I shot this image in the fading light. The sun was close to setting and the canyon wall was catching some really warm light and bouncing it into these cascades. I got in the water to get the best angle on this image.

I also liked the vertical composition as well. I decreased my shutter speed on this one to record a little more clarity in the flowing water.

I shot this small waterfall in the upper section of the canyon a bit earlier in the afternoon. The light was dappled and I waited for it to be partially obscured by the passing clouds. The soft light added a nice touch of highlights to the foliage without being too bright to balance the rest of the scene.

I am always on the lookout for abstract designs. When I found this small band of cross bedding I knew I had to get the shot. This was a little tricky getting down to as I had to cross the stream and down climb a series of slick cascades to get the right perspective on the image. I got fairly soaking wet and almost fell hard a few times.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

