Skip to content

April 19, 2010

2

South Window, Arches National Park, Utah

by josephrossbachphoto

While shooting in Arches National Park, I visited the iconic North and South Windows. You know the famous shot of Turret Arch framed by North Window. While looking around for a unique perspective on South Window, I found a nice set of sandstone and boulders below the backside of the arch that served perfectly as an interesting foreground as well as a powershape to lead the eye into the image. The sky was filled with some really interesting clouds and I wanted to use my solid ND to run an exposure of several minutes only to realize I had left it at home. Not to worry, I knew from previous experimentation that I could use the multiple exposure function in my Nikon to create a similar effect. I dialed in a multiple exposure of 10 frames. The base exposure for the shot was only 1/4 of a second at F16. Not nearly long enough to record movement in the clouds. What I did to create this implied movement in the sky was to take a shot and then wait 10 seconds before taking the next in the sequence of 10. The time-lapse between each capture allowed the clouds to drift and record as a streaked look in the final shot.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Apr 19 2010

    A lovely shot and a creative way to get the clouds to have that look… I really need to switch to NIKON!!!!

    Reply
  2. Nancy Thorington
    Apr 19 2010

    It worked. Great information. Nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

