Skip to content

October 13, 2009

Waterfalls and color along the Mad River at sunset in Vermont.

by josephrossbachphoto

_DSC9933

I made this image on the very first outing of this years Vermont Photo Workshop. It was a gloomy and rainy day and after we had finished up shooting at Moss Glen Falls I took the group a bit up Rt. 100 to this great little section of falls. The light levels were very low and many in  the group probably thought what the hell is this guy doing trying to shoot this image in such low light. We arrived 10 minutes after official sunset. I got into the stream and encouraged some other to follow. We set up a tight composition of the falls with a nice bit of color in the background. I metered out 30 seconds at f11. I knew I needed a bit more DOF, so I moved the aperture up to f16 and increased the exposure to 1 minute. I also manually set my white balances color temperature to 7600K to warm up the scene and remove the majority of the strong blue color cast from shooting at this time of day and light. I am quite happy with the end result and it just goes to show that with the right knowledge and craft you can create stunning images in less than optimal shooting conditions!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

