Skip to content

June 26, 2009

2

Old Friends, Shenandoah National Park

by josephrossbachphoto

Old Friends

Originally uploaded by Joseph Rossbach(www.josephrossbach.com)

For years I have been attracted to this old snag in Shenandoah National Park and for years the light and clouds never worked out for me. On my last trip into the park on the last day of the workshop, I took the group down to this spot. As the sun rose it illuminated the underside of the clouds floating by. I shot at f22 to get the sunstar and used a 2 stop ND grad to open up some additional detail in the mountains. I cropped this shot to 4:5 ratio to remove the empty space on the right of the composition and better balance the photo.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. denisebushphoto
    Jun 28 2009

    Nice Joe! I remember the spot from the workshop last year. Just the right amount of illumination in the foreground. I see that ever-present cloud bank in the distance. Is it always there? Maybe I’ll see you in Colorado! — Denise

    Reply
  2. josephrossbachphoto
    Jun 28 2009

    Hey Denise! Thanks for checking in. I’ll give you a buzz when in Colorado and maybe we can get together for an afternoon shoot.

    Good luck, Joe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

