Skip to content

May 20, 2009

1

Shenandoah Round-up and of to Cape May, NJ

by josephrossbachphoto

Finally finished processing most of my A+ images from the past 2 weeks in Shenandoah National Park. The spring conditions were absolutely amazing this year with lots of interesting weather, light and rain. The number f bad rainy days, this equals great conditions for nature photographers by the way, was like 2 to 1. I spent much of time deep in the many hollows of the park during the mid day shooting waterfalls and streams and hiking out to summits and overlooks in search of good light at sunrise and sunset.

Here are a few of my favorites:

Spring Cascade in Whiteoak Canyon

Spring Cascade in Whiteoak Canyon

This nice little cascade is found deep in lower Whiteoak Canyon. In order to gain the most dramatic perspective on the falls I climbed down the steep slope and got in the water mid thigh. The camera was just about 2 feet away from the cascade and I had to remember to keep wiping off the filter and water was constantly spraying the front element.

Stack Rock Sunrise

Stack Rock Sunrise

On the second morning of my workshop, I got the group on the road at 4am for the long haul down the the southern end of the park to be at the trail head in time to make it onto Blackrock Summit at first light. I found my favorite rock formation and composed this super wide angle landscape. in order to balance the exposure, I used my Singh Ray 3 stop ND grad (hard). Hand holding the filter and moving up and down over the course of the exposure allowed me eliminate the hard grad line which would have showed up in the stack rock.

Cascade on Hog Camp Branch

Cascade on Hog Camp Branch

The zig-zag flow of the water lend-ed itself perfectly to a tight and intimate composition of the falls. The neon green moss reminded me of a scene from the Columbia River Gorge. The western guys are so lucky!

Fallen Oak Falls

Fallen Oak Falls

 I had photographed this scene about 2 weeks ago and was mostly happy with the results although I felt the comp in the first was not quite a dramatic as it could be. On the last day of my trip in the park it was raining and completely overcast, so I decided to give this image one more try. I got low and close to the fallen log and with the use of my wide angle I was able to really exaggerate its length and size.  The leading line of the tree pulls the eyes deeper into the comp and up into the lush woods.

Off to Cape May, NJ for the weekend to lead a workshop that will center itself around the primordial ritual of the annual Horseshoe Crab spawning. This event is like no other in the eastern United States where  you have a chance to shoot hundreds if not thousands of crabs storming the beaches for as far as the eye can see. In the morning, the crabs that were not lucky enough to make it back to sea become an all you can eat buffet for hundreds of shore birds. I sight to see! If anyone is interested, we still have 2 openings for this workshop.  http://www.mountaintrailphoto.com/workshops_8.htm

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Mike
    May 27 2009

    Hi I going to sky line this weekend for my 1st time and live in cape may area, I don’t know if you ever gone to Norht Cape May for hoseshoe crabs but if not try the beach is great and there is a bar where you can ssit and see the sun set also

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

