Skip to content

May 6, 2009

8

Springtime in Shenadoah National Park

by josephrossbachphoto

The last 2 weeks have been extremely busy for me. I have been out in the field as much as possible shooting in Shenandoah National Park while juggling a submission of images requested for Digital Photo Magazine, a huge selection of images for a fine art sale through my art agent and trying to keep up with workshop registrations and questions. With all the rain of late and the fresh spring foliage, Shenandoah is prime for shooting it’s many waterfalls and streams in the deep Appalachian hollows. As a matter of fact, our Shenandoah Spring Workshop is next weekend and the conditions should be just about perfect. We still have one spot left so if you are interested click here fore more details and registration.

White Oak Run

White Oak Run

While exploring the lower reaches of White Oak Canyon I was drawn to this section of the stream with nice cascades, fresh spring foliage and a dogwood tree in the distance. I got in low and close to record a very wide angle but made sure to crop out the blank white sky. Nikon D300, 12-24mm, Singh Ray LB Polarizer, f16 at 1 second

Dogwood and Stream

Dogwood and Stream

Just about 50 yards up stream I found another angle on the Dogwood tree with a set of nice diagonal cascades leading the eye across the frame and into the forest beyond. Nikon D300, 12-24mm, f14 @ 1/2 second.

Little Stony Man Cliffs

Little Stony Man Cliffs

I took a chance on this image from Little Stony Man Cliffs. It had rained and been socked in fog and clouds for mos of the day, but around 3pm the sky was clearing in certain areas so I headed up to this spot in hopes of some dramatic light. The sun never did pop out on the western horizon and light up the cliffs like I had hoped. I settled for a very moody images by using my Singh Ray Vari-N-Tio to dial in a 1 minute exposure at f14 to record movement in the clouds. The long exposure coupled with a soft pink glow on the horizon resulted in very colorful image. Nikon D300, 12-24mm, Singh Ray Vari-N-Trio & 3 stop ND grad Hard, f14 for for 1 minute.

Waterfall on Jones Run

Waterfall on Jones Run

Early this week I hiked the 6 mile loop of Jones Run and Doyles Falls with fellow photographer Ian Plant. It rained hard at times and I got completely soaked. It was absolutely worth it! There is no other better time to shoot the falls in Shenandoah then on a wet and rainy spring day. For this image I had to climb out on to a fallen tree to position myself to get the shot. One tripod leg was on the bank, the other in the plunge pool and the third on the tree. I couldn’t settle for a different perspective. The good news is that I nor the camera fell in the water. Nikon D300, 12-24mm, Singh Ray LB Polarizer, 2 seconds @ f16

Lower Doyles River Falls

Lower Doyles River Falls

Check back later this week for more new images!

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. May 7 2009

    Joe – This is the first I’ve heard of a Vari-N-Trio! Is this a new product? How is it different from the Vari-N-Duo?

    – Jack

    Reply
  2. May 7 2009

    Hey Jack, yep it’s brand new and in fact Singh Ray has yet to release the filter to the general public. I have been testing it out for them for about the last 3 weeks. What it has that is different then the Duo is it has the LB Color Combo built into it as opposed to the LB Polarizer. Thanks for the comment Jack!

    Reply
  3. May 7 2009

    Hey, Joe – Ah, cool. I know I can’t live without my Vari-N-Duo; I’ll have to check out the Trio when it’s released.

    (Lovely images, by the way – forgot to mention that in my gear-lust-frenzy! ;^D )

    – Jack

    Reply
  4. May 7 2009

    Ah the gear lust! Lusting over that sexy new lens or curvy filter that just to hit the front page of “photo vouge” or “Singh Rays of Hollywood” :-]

    Reply
  5. May 8 2009

    Yeah, and it’s only getting worse since I got the 5Dii & Z3100… When I started in digital photography, I thought it would be so much less expensive than film – a camera and a lens (maybe 2), and look at the pictures on the screen. I was so innocent & naive! :^D

    Reply
  6. Alex Knox
    Apr 22 2011

    Jack: Are you selling any of your images? I’d like to use you picture of the waterfall on Jones Run for an email I am sending out related to spring. let me know your rates and how to proceed. Many thanks!

    Reply
  7. Apr 22 2011

    Hey, Alex – I do sell my images, but the photos above aren’t mine! They’re all the terrific work of Joe Rossbach, all around good guy & owner of this site. Hopefully he’ll see this & get in touch with his rates. You can also email him directly via his mail form at http://www.josephrossbach.com/mailer.html.
    Good luck – I hope you can work something out!

    – Jack

    Reply
  8. Austin
    Jul 1 2011

    I’d like to order an 11×18 of one of your prints (view from little Stony Man cliffs). Is this possible? Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

