Skip to content

February 1, 2009

6

Impressions of Winter

by josephrossbachphoto
For the past 2 years I have been working on a collection of images entitled “Impressions of Winter”. As an artist and photographer, I am often drawn to the more intimate scenes in nature and I think that it has allot to do with my personality and an advanced awareness of the small and often unnoticed details in the natural world. I call these things “Small World Spectaculars”. For years I chased the light and the grand landscape in search of provocative and emotional images of the wild landscape, and while my quest for the sublime light and landscape has not yet ceased, I find myself more times than not searching out the small details in the larger picture. This thought process probably has allot to do with where I live and what I most often shoot. The east coast is not the west! We don’t have big mountains, vast deserts and wild seashores and I think it provokes a more sensitive and thoughtful approach to the smaller details that are often overlooked by West Coast photographers. That being said, I would probably find it quites a challenge to produce the same caliber of work as guys like George, Guy and Marc out west. They all bring a flare of creativity and a special understanding of composition and light that I don’t often see by there West Coast comrades. 
So in my travels and adventures, I have begun to assemble a portfolio of work called “Impressions of Winter”. Over the last couple of months, I have been revisiting these works, re-processing them and putting them together as a collection. I thought I would share with you all what I have so far. Of course this is long term project and like all things creative it will continue to evolve over time. This is what I have so far and I plan on introducing even more images that I am working on in the next few weeks. Enjoy!
Small Worlds

Small Worlds

 

Waiting for Spring

Waiting for Spring

 

Ice Cap on the Swift

Ice Cap on the Swift

 

Mystery Woods

Mystery Woods

 

The Great Escape

The Great Escape

 

Light Symphony

Light Symphony

 

Winters Grip

Winters Grip

 

Suspended Animation

Suspended Animation

 

Winter Woods

Winter Woods

 

The Ice Belt

The Ice Belt

 

Fallen Comrade

Fallen Comrad

 

Shattered Glass

Shattered Glass

 

Long Awaited Light

Long Awaited Light

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Feb 1 2009

    It’s a great series Joe, I’m a big fan of this style of work and you do it as well as anyone. “Small Worlds” and “Shattered Glass” really do it for me.

    Reply
  2. Debbi Koplen
    Feb 1 2009

    Joe, amazing work! My favorite is “The Great Escape”. I’m going through shutter withdrawel looking at your images!

    Reply
  3. Feb 2 2009

    A fellow winter lover! So nice to see someone else is out on the ice. We did the Susquehanna again today. Got some nice ice too! I like your multiple on the winter trees.

    Reply
  4. Feb 2 2009

    Outstanding Project Joe!

    Reply
  5. josephrossbachphoto
    Feb 6 2009

    Thanks guys for all the positive feedback!

    Reply
  6. lynnwiles
    Mar 23 2009

    Hi, I just ran into your blog. Beautiful images and interesting techniques. After this past rough winter, I wouldn’t think that I would find anything to do with ice to be beautiful, but your photos have proven me wrong. Lynn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

