Skip to content

December 5, 2008

Abandoned Boat HDR

by josephrossbachphoto

abandoned-boat-hdr

This is the side of a very interesting abandoned boat on Chincoteague Island, Virginia. I just love HDR and the “grunge” treatment especially for these types of weathered and rusted forgotten subjects. It was an impossibly bright and sunny day at around 1pm when I made this shot. The light and subject matter were perfect for an HDR. I ended up bracketing 9 exposures at 1 stop each.Making sure my camera was in burst mode, I quickly fired them off to make sure that all areas of the image perfectly matched up for post production.

The shot processed in Photomatix and Tone-mapped for the ‘grunge” look.  I totally forgot about the entire 4gig card I filled with bracketed images of this boat from the trip and over the next week I will be visiting them to see if I can pull a few more images from the bunch.

On a side note, our Annapolis HDR One Day workshop is now completely booked up, but there are still 4 spaces left on the January 28 One Day workshop in historic St. Mikes, Maryland.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

