Skip to content

September 5, 2008

1

Long Exposure Mountainscape

by josephrossbachphoto

Here is an image I made last week while in Virginia. My wife Amber and I were in Charlottesville, VA attending a wedding and I was able to sneak away one night to do a little photography. Charlottesville is only 20 miles from the southern arm of Skyline Drive, Shenandoah National Park. I didn’t have a lot of time to get off the beaten path, so I chose a favorite overlook to shoot sunset. This image was made about 20 minutes past sunset when there was still a faint glow on the horizon. I framed the image wide to include the sweep of the mountains and the clouds high above. My exposure was 2.5 minutes at F8 at ISO 100. This allowed me to properly expose for the sky while letting the mountains and land silhouette. The clouds streaked across the frame during the log exposure creating a painterly feel to the image.

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Jim March
    Sep 5 2008

    Great photo. I live in the southern end of the Blue Ridge Mountains near Tryon, NC. From my house I have a similar view as your photo here and I do a lot of sunset work from the “yard”. Strong cloud presence is especially interesting as is the color and casts after sunset. Each evening is always new and different and presents constant potential images… and best, all I do is just wait in the hammock until conditions are right to grab the camera! The only negative here is there is no interesting foreground to use so many photos have silhouetted ridges but with great sky!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

