Skip to content

June 6, 2009

7

West Virginia spring images and a trip to the ER

by josephrossbachphoto
Second Falls of Shay's Run

Second Falls of Shay's Run

 Man, what a crazy week it has been. I got back into town late Sunday( last week) after a few days of shooting waterfalls and scenes in the Potomac Highlands of eastern West Virginia. Monday and Tuesday were pretty quit. I bummed around the house, processed images and worked on the release of my brand new website. On Wednesday afternoon, I met up with a friend to have lunch in Baltimore City. This is where it all goes down hill very fast! After leaving the restaurant, I noticed that I wasn’t feeling quite right. My stomach was upset and and I was sweating quite a bit. I hoped in the car and began to drive back out of the city when it hit me. The sickness hit me like a boulder and I had to pull of the side of the road and began puking my brains out. After about 10 minutes of hurling up everything I had in my stomach, I began to drive on in hopes of making it home before the next bout of nausea hit me. About half way through the drive, I was freezing cold and sweating profusely. I was also beginning to feel dizzy and my hands and feet were going numb. I was scared and pulled the jeep of the side of Rt.97. As soon as I got over on the side of the road, I once again began vomiting violently and had to run for cover in the woods as I was now about to have a case of runs on top of it. This lasted for almost 15 minutes. All the while I was feeling sicker, colder and more and more dizzy. I finally pulled myself out of the brush and towards the car when I noticed that I really wasn’t able to walk and was about to pass out. At that exact moment, a state police officer was coming by and I was able to wave her down for assistance. I was delirious, confused and could barley explain the situation not to mention my mounting sickness and symptoms. She called in an ambulance and I was rushed to the ER in Annapolis. I ended up having food poison and spent the next 8 hours in an ER bed on IV drip, Dilaudid and anti-nausea medication. I was finally released at around midnight.

Needless to say, the last couple of days have been a little bit less than productive, although I did manage to finish up the new website and was able to launch it last night. I am still quite weak and really have not had much of anything to eat for the past 3 days as my stomach is still recovering from the poison and vomiting. I should be back on my feet by tomorrow though and I will need all the energy I have because on Monday I have a private workshop in Great Falls. Wish me luck :-}

Here are few images from the WV trip that I have managed to finish up.

Also, I will be giving a lecture and book signing on my latest book “50 Amazing Things you must see and do in the Greater D.C. area at the Barnes & Noble in Annapolis on July 30 at 7:30pm. Contact the Barnes & Noble for more details!

Second Falls of Shay's RUn

Second Falls of Shay's RUn

 

Spring Sunrise on Bear Rocks

Spring Sunrise on Bear Rocks

Big Sky on Bear Rocks

Big Sky on Bear Rocks

 

Pothole Rock at Sunrise

Pothole Rock at Sunrise

 

Falls Gap, WV

Falls Gap, WV

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jun 7 2009

    WOW, Joe, glad that you feel much better now. You better take care of yourself.

    Reply
  2. josephrossbachphoto
    Jun 7 2009

    Thanks Reza, pretty much back on my feet now. Great shooting with you last weekend!

    Reply
  3. Jun 8 2009

    Holy Cow Joe… So sorry to hear about all that! No fun dude! Glad you’re feeling a bit better. Once again you have this area figured out! Great, big time great images! Congrats on the book too. I hope that is going well for you.

    Reply
  4. Jun 8 2009

    Hey Joe,
    That’s terrible, but really glad that trooper saved you from the side of the road!

    Reply
  5. Jim Walline
    Jun 8 2009

    Joe,

    That is crazy! I hope you are doing ok. It was an amazing weekend shooting in WVA!

    Let me know if you need anything.

    -jim

    Reply
  6. Jun 9 2009

    Joe, I can relate! The same thing happened to me last year after a backpacking trip to the Uinta. After the hike, my friend and I stopped at a Mexican restaurant in a small town before heading home. Similar symptoms ensued when I got home and the next day I was at the ER with a fever of 103 that would not go away.
    Oh well… what doesn’t kill you… :)
    Take care my friend and get back out there as soon as you can.

    Guy

    Reply
  7. richardbernabe
    Jun 10 2009

    TMI (too much information!) :)

    Glad you’re feeling better, man.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

